May 2015

Kim Macari by Ben HodgesIt’s certainly been a while since I’ve updated this site. It’s one of the disadvantages of being a plate-spinner (or, as it’s offically called – a portfolio career…) I’ve been focused for a while on Apollo Jazz Network as we are currently working on a very large and ambitious project. For the last few months, I’ve been developing a funding bid, meeting with funders and partners in the project and getting ready to submit it to the Arts Council. Now, as I enter into the final stretch I’m experiencing a real hesitance. On the one hand, I’m desperate to submit the bid because it’ll be a long wait to hear from the funders about their decision. And, because if this bid is successful it would mean a lot to me and to my career. On the other hand, though, I feel as if I’m almost stalling because once I submit it, that’s it. What if we don’t get it? It’s difficult to think about. I don’t want to share lots of details right now on what it will be, but I am so convinced that it will be an exciting and important thing for the jazz scene in the North of England.

To other things, now. I am very excited to be featured in this year’s Edinburgh Jazz Festival with a very special project. I will be collaborating with Enrico Zanisi, a wonderful Italian pianist. Our gig is a double-header with Melissa Aldana’s Crash Trio and I’m delighted to be in such illustrious company. We’ll be performing music by myself and Enrico and I can’t wait to get started. The gig is on July 20th at 8pm at the Festival Theatre Studio in Edinburgh. Tickets are £15 and are on sale now on the EJF website.

On that note, you’ll see some new photographs of me appearing. These were taken by a great photographer, Ben Hodges. If you’re looking for a photographer, I’d urge you to consider Ben – beautiful photos and a lovely man to work with.

Leave a Reply

